Professor Levon Helps Discover Nobel Laureates of Tomorrow

Professor Kalle Levon
Professor Kalle Levon of the Department of Chemical and Biological Sciences joined NYC-based Nobel laureates and other scientific luminaries in determining which bright high school students would claim the title, “Laureate of Tomorrow.” As a judge for the second annual “The Laureates of Tomorrow - Nobel Essay Contest,” Professor Levon helped select the three grand prize winners who received a free, all-expenses paid trip to Sweden to attend the Nobel Prize ceremonies in December.

The contest is presented by a partnership between the Consulate General of Sweden, New York Academy of Sciences and, working in collaboration with the New York City Department of Education, and The City University of New York. Exclusive to New York City, the contest reflects the fact that New York leads all other cities around the world with more than 100 Nobel Laureates.

All juniors in New York City public, private, and parochial schools are eligible to enter the contest. Entrants must write an essay examining the impact on science and society of major scientific achievements by Nobel Prize winners in physics, chemistry or physiology/medicine. Professor Levon and the other judges evaluated thirty finalists as they defended their essays with an oral presentation. The three winners announced on June 12 were - Physics: Gena Rozenberg of Bronx High School of Science, Chemistry: Natasha Plotkin of Hunter College High School, and Medicine: Avishai Don of SAR High School.