Student Awards | NYU Tandon School of Engineering

Student Awards

The Civil and Urban Engineering department congratulates the following students for their many achievements.

CUE Students and Prof Griffis in formal wear

These awards are given by friends of the Civil & Urban Engineering (CUE) Department annually to CUE students in recognition of scholastic achievement.  They are in addition to university-awarded scholarships or financial aid.

The Moles Scholarship Award

Given annually to a deserving and academically qualified senior studying civil engineering with high academic standings and expressed interest to pursue his/her career in the construction industry. 

2020 Victor Alvarez, Erik Kazazi, Tarah Nicole Ngoc Driver, Carol Shlyakhova, Andrew Li

2019 Lan-La Leung, Gisselle Barrera

2018 Alec Gonnella, Bryan Kwiatkowski

2017 Zoya Benyaminov, Chun Yue (Johnny) Wong

2016 Camila Cavalcante 

2015 Lei Fu Wang

2014 Demetrio Criscuolo

2013 Jason Glenn 

2012 Vilius Plavinskas, Sebastian Sztukowski, Charles Andrews

The Moles Student Award

Given to a graduating civil engineering senior who is selected in recognition of high academic achievement, enthusiasm, and effort, and who shows outstanding promise for a career in construction engineering or management.

2019 Kevin Beltran

2018 Cameron Haas

2017 Julia J. Langewis

2016 Mark Milkis

2015 Khaled Mohamed

2014 Eleni Ramoundos

2013 Cleveland Hoades

2012 Stanislav Roslyakov

Robert Ridgway ASCE Student Chapter Award

Given annually to a deserving and academically qualified senior studying civil engineering with high academic standings and expressed interest to pursue his/her career in the construction industry. 

2021 Martin Buceta Bertini

2020 Brian S. Kuhlman

2019 Mateusz Chrobak

2018 Matthew Light

2017 Nathaniel Evelkin

2016 Jennifer Zhao

2015 Denisa Lleshi

2014 Michael Sokolovsky

2013 George Clarke

2012 Christopher Gochnauer

Bertha Pagenstecher Memorial Award

Given to graduating senior female students in recognition of outstanding academic performance in the field of civil engineering.

2021 Purnima Prasad

2020 Tarah Nicole Ngoc Driver

2019 Gisselle Barrera

2018 Ankita Jain

2017 Julia Langewis

2016 Shannon Kattowski

2015 Rosa Lo

2014 Christine Ng

2013 Michele Tse

2012 Ornela Nano-Karamuro

Theodore Clinton Towl Award

Given in memory of this member of the Class of 1912 to outstanding graduating seniors in civil engineering.

2021 David Morales

2020 Samuel W. Redway

2019 Daniel Cabrera

2018 Carlos Pena Del Valle

2017 Mamadou Toure

2016 Colby Bennardo

2015 Judith Zhao

2014 Demetrio Criscuolo

2013 Jiashun Xu

2012 Jason Mai

Young Member Forum of the American Society of Civil Engineers Award

Given in recognition of scholarship in civil engineering, constructive interest in co-curricular activities and service to the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Student Chapter and to the NYU Tandon community.

2021 Uma Lakshman

2020 Caroline Shlyakhova

2019 Liuying Lara Lin

2018 Christopher Katsanos

2017 Ashlene Bisram

2016 Sutenee Nopachinda

2015 Jimmy Liang

2014 Jeffrey Chang

2013 Christopher Gochnauer

2012 Vilius Plavinskas

Donald J. Murphy Memorial Scholarship

Given by the Deep Foundations Institute in memory of this alum to outstanding students who are focused on geotechnical and/or environmental engineering. 

2021 Janice Su

2020 Nikki Ong

2019 Torianna Kirby

2018 Hio Kuan Kong (Elsa)

2017 Julia Langewis

2016 Leonardo Yoshiaki Abe 

Civil Engineering Faculty Outstanding Construction Management Award

Awarded annually to an outstanding construction management student in recognition of scholarship, initiative and promise.

2021 Macarthy Adelman

2020 Betty Shenglan Peng

2019 Caroline Huang

2018 Wilmer Vega

2017 Julie-Ann Evans

2016 John Mair

2015 Matt Buol- Ferg

2014 Pedro Cruz 

2013 Cheng Qian

2012 Paul Micali

Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP)

2019 Ziyi Ma 

2018 Heba Omholt

Industry and Society Awards

ASCE Geotech Institute Metropolitan Section Scholarship
Sophia Mercurio

TransportationCamp NYC 2020 Scholarship and Essay Award
Nick Hudanich and Abhinav Bhattacharyya

Concrete Industry Foundation Scholarship
Mari Kobakhidze

NYWEA Metropolitan Chapter Scholarship for 2019
Ahmed Shaheen 

Structural Engineers Association of New York Scholarship (SEAoNY)
Carol Shlyakhova

Urban Design Forum Forefront Fellowship 
Boyeong Hong

DFI Educational Trust
Nikolaos Machairas 

James E. Halpin Scholarship 
 Nathaniel Evelkin 

Society of American Military Engineers Award

Given to civil engineering and construction management students in recognition of outstanding academic achievement in their respective fields. 


Anton Cano, New York Building Congress Scholarship

Mohammed Hoque, New York Building Congress Scholarship

Nicholas Hudanich, Turner Construction Co. Scholarship

Yuki Ishii, Seymour S. Greenfield, PE Memorial Scholarship

Jie Jin, Eugune Fasullo & Maxine Hyrkas Scholarship I

Richard Liu, Joe Markle Dinner Memorial #2 Scholarship

Zelin Liu, Parsons Brinckerhoff Scholarship in Remembrance of Sept. 11

Arye Ludmir, Edward J. Quirin Scholarship

Adiba Mizai, Susan Miszkowicz Memorial Scholarship

Elliot Molina, Sverdrup Corporation Scholarship

Niharika Narendra, Eugene Fasullo & Maxine Hyrkas Scholarship II

Julia Qin, John J. Kassner Scholarship

Michelle Ren, Col. B. Edward Lavender Scholarship

Nathan Sutton, Morris & Sadie Weisstuch Memorial Scholarship

Annie Wu, R.M. Monti Scholarship

Danna Wu, RADM Alexander C. Husband Scholarship

Municipal Engineers of the City of New York Scholarship

As Engineers, one of the great things we can do to advance our industry for future generations is to assist the current Engineering and Architecture students in our field by supporting those students who have excelled academically and to promote the good name of our profession. 

The MENY promotes this cause each year as we partner with industry leaders to provide annual scholarships to worthy students.


Nicholas Hudanich

ASCE Metropolitan Section Student Scholarship


Natalie Bunce