Inclusion at Tandon | NYU Tandon School of Engineering

Inclusion at Tandon

At the NYU Tandon School of Engineering, we see inclusion, diversity, equity, and belonging as organizational and service imperatives, and we are committed to building a School environment that supports a diverse, vibrant, creative community of problem-solvers, innovators, inventors, designers, and artists. 

Members of Inclusion at Tandon Committee with speakers at diversity summit

Inclusion at Tandon (I@T) initiative is part of Tandon’s capacity-building efforts to ensure that Tandon is a place where all groups feel they are valued, belong, and can thrive. More specifically the initiative is focused on developing a comprehensive and sustainable diversity, equity, and inclusion strategic plan at the school, including K-12 efforts and pipeline initiatives, attracting, and creating an atmosphere of support for diverse students at Tandon, and hiring, developing, and retaining diverse faculty.

Strategic Plan

The Inclusion at Tandon inclusion, diversity, belonging, and equity (IDBE) Strategic Plan includes four Strategic Foci including:

  1. IDBE Leadership, Training, and Development 
  2. Outreach, Access, Recruitment, and Retention
  3. Strategic Innovation and Sustainable Growth 
  4. Communication with Stakeholders

View the Strategic Plan


Jean Gallagher

Jean Gallagher

Professor, Technology, Culture and Society; Director of Faculty Development

Nicole Johnson headshot

Nicole Johnson

Assistant Dean for Opportunity Programs and Director of the TRIO Scholars Program

Committee Members


  • Tega Brain, Industry Assistant Professor, Technology, Culture and Society
  • Phyllis Frankl, Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
  • Siddharth Garg, Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Amakoe Gbedemah, Lecturer, Mathematics for Engineering
  • Rachel Greenstadt, Associate Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
  • Amy Hurst, Associate Professor, Technology, Culture and Society and Director of Ability Project
  • Vikram Kapila, Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Miguel Modestino, Assistant Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Jin Montclare, Professor Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Beth Noveck, Professor, Technology, Culture and Society
  • Andre Taylor, Associate Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Yao Wang, Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering and Academic Associate Dean


  • Rosemary Ampuero, Assistant Dean Office of Student Affairs
  • Mariah Bater, Graduate Research Assistant
  • Victoria Bill, Director of Makerspace
  • Christine Curtis, Event Planner
  • Elizabeth Ensweiler, Senior Director of Graduate Enrollment Management and Admissions 
  • Benjamin Esner, Director of Center for K12 STEM Education
  • Anita Farrington, Associate Dean of Student Affairs
  • Susan Hermon, Program Coordinator, Center for K-12 STEM Education
  • Karmini Hossain, Senior HR Generalist/Recruitment Manager
  • Jillian James, Assistant Director of Faculty Affairs
  • Emerald Knox, Project Manager, ECE
  • Gita Jadgish Kumar, HR Administrator
  • Cindy Lewis, Director of Undergraduate Enrollment Management Academic Affairs
  • Karine-Frederique Loriot, Associate Dean of Career Services
  • Cynthia Monsour, Assistant Director of Human Resources
  • Nina Nguyen, Director of Human Resources
  • Melinda Parham, Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs
  • Andrew Rapin, Director of Graduate Admissions


  • Naya Acosta
  • Danny Alcedo
  • Amber Alex
  • Fiorabella Cogley
  • Roxie Floyd
  • Thomas Gutierrez
  • Shahrin Haque
  • Alex Him 
  • Rachel Ombok
  • Sowdamini Pogaru
  • Suqi Wu


  • Brittney Atkinson-Mcfarlane 
  • Zainab Babikir
  • Brien Bledsoe
  • De'Anne Kennedy