Diversity & Inclusion Committees | NYU Tandon School of Engineering

Diversity & Inclusion Committees

At the NYU Tandon School of Engineering, we see inclusion, diversity, equity, and belonging as organizational and service imperatives, and we are committed to building a School environment that supports a diverse, vibrant, creative community of problem-solvers, innovators, inventors, designers, and artists. 

Members of Inclusion at Tandon Committee with speakers at diversity summit

Inclusion @ Tandon

Inclusion @ Tandon (I@T) initiative is part of Tandon’s capacity-building efforts to ensure that Tandon is a place where all groups feel they are valued, belong, and can thrive. More specifically the initiative is focused on developing a comprehensive and sustainable diversity, equity, and inclusion strategic plan at the school, including K-12 efforts and pipeline initiatives, attracting, and creating an atmosphere of support for diverse students at Tandon, and hiring, developing, and retaining diverse faculty.

The Inclusion @ Tandon inclusion, diversity, belonging, and equity (IDBE) Strategic Plan includes four Strategic Foci including:

  1. IDBE Leadership, Training, and Development 
  2. Outreach, Access, Recruitment, and Retention
  3. Strategic Innovation and Sustainable Growth 
  4. Communication with Stakeholders

View the Strategic Plan

Inclusion @ Tandon Committee Members

  • Tega Brain, Industry Assistant Professor, Technology, Culture and Society
  • Phyllis Frankl, Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
  • Siddharth Garg, Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Amakoe Gbedemah, Lecturer, Mathematics for Engineering
  • Rachel Greenstadt, Associate Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
  • Amy Hurst, Associate Professor, Technology, Culture and Society and Director of Ability Project
  • Vikram Kapila, Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Miguel Modestino, Assistant Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Jin Montclare, Professor Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Beth Noveck, Professor, Technology, Culture and Society
  • Andre Taylor, Associate Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Yao Wang, Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering and Academic Associate Dean

  • Rosemary Ampuero, Interim Associate Dean of Student Affairs
  • Mariah Bater, Graduate Research Assistant
  • Victoria Bill, Director of Makerspace
  • Christine Curtis, Event Planner
  • Elizabeth Ensweiler, Senior Director of Graduate Enrollment Management and Admissions 
  • Benjamin Esner, Director of Center for K12 STEM Education
  • Susan Hermon, Program Coordinator, Center for K-12 STEM Education
  • Karmini Hossain, Senior HR Generalist/Recruitment Manager
  • Jillian James, Assistant Director of Faculty Affairs
  • Emerald Knox, Project Manager, ECE
  • Gita Jadgish Kumar, HR Administrator
  • Cindy Lewis, Director of Undergraduate Enrollment Management Academic Affairs
  • Karine-Frederique Loriot, Associate Dean of Career Services
  • Cynthia Monsour, Assistant Director of Human Resources
  • Nina Nguyen, Director of Human Resources
  • Melinda Parham, Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs
  • Andrew Rapin, Director of Graduate Admissions

  • Naya Acosta
  • Danny Alcedo
  • Amber Alex
  • Fiorabella Cogley
  • Roxie Floyd
  • Thomas Gutierrez
  • Shahrin Haque
  • Alex Him 
  • Rachel Ombok
  • Sowdamini Pogaru
  • Suqi Wu

  • Brittney Atkinson-Mcfarlane 
  • Zainab Babikir
  • Brien Bledsoe
  • De'Anne Kennedy

Black and Latino Men @ Tandon

The Black and Latino Men at Tandon (BLMT) initiative seeks to create an academic environment that supports the self-actualization of Black and Latino men and promotes their sustained presence in STEM. 

Committee Details

Women @ Tandon

Women @ Tandon seekd to increase recruitment, retention, and success of women through a wide range of programs, services and activities geared towards building a supportive environment of and for women; and cultivate and showcase women to be leaders in the transformation of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math locally and globally.

Committee Details