Student Awards

The following is a list of awards offered by the Department of Computer Engineering, and past and current recipients of each award.

See the complete Dean's List of students

Outstanding Student Assistant Awards

For their commitment to the CSE department and their peers as Teaching Assistants (TAs), Graduate Assistants (GAs), and/or active student leaders through our OSIRIS, CSAW or Gen Cyber summer camps.

2016 Caicai Chen, Kevin Chung, Nicolai Ferraris, Benson Kuang, Swaad Golum, Salomon Idy, Shahzaib Javed, Pattaravuth Patrick Kingchatchaval, Scott Lee, Maliat Manzur, Aditi Prabhu, Wells Santo, Christopher Thompson, Emily Wicki

The Deborah Rosenthal, MD Award

Established by the late Professor Myron M. Rosenthal in the name of his daughter Deborah Rosenthal (Class of 1981, MS in Bioengineering). Awarded to a graduate student in computer science for outstanding performance on the PhD qualifying examination.

2016 Guoxian Dai
2015 Aaron Isaksen
2014 Fernando Seabra Chirigati and Nektarios Tsoutsos
2013 Nivan R. Ferreira
2012 Napa Sae-Bae, Maria Christoforaki

The Pearl Brownstein Doctoral Research Award

Established in 1987 and given in loving memory of her son, Joseph, to PhD students in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering whose doctoral research shows the greatest promise.

2016 Fernando Seabra Chirigati
2015 Nivan R. Ferreira
2014 Napa Sae-Bae
2013 Samah Mohamed Saeed
2012 Shuai Ding

The Pearl Brownstein Junior Award

Established in 1987 and given in loving memory of her nephew, Richard Rosen, to the undergraduate who completes junior year with the highest grade-point average in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering.

2016 Dennis Sun
2015 Albert Cheu
2014 Tony Hyunh
2013 Kathy Ou
2012 Jin Liu

The Pearl Brownstein Senior Award

Established in 1987 and given in loving memory of her grandson, Lawrence, to the graduating Senior with the highest grade-point average in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering.

2016 Albert Felix Cheu and Wilson Li
2015 Abdel-Rahman H. Ahmed and Zaid Qureshi
2014 Kathy Ou
2013 Edward Melcer
2012 Moshe Caplan

The Myron M. Rosenthal Computer Science Academic Achievement Award

Established by the late Professor Myron M. Rosenthal and awarded to computer science and engineering junior with the highest academic standing.

2016 Saif Rahman
2015 Wilson Li
2014 Vincent Fong
2013 Abraham Gellis
2012 Qianli Liao

Myron M. Rosenthal Computer Science Project Prizes

Established by the late Professor Myron M. Rosenthal for the best senior project in computer science.

2016 Shiny Croospulle, Jesus Leal, Niela Sultana, Elon Xie
2015 Panagis Alisandratos, Joel Castillo, Javlon Usmanov, Samuel Weissman
2014 Omar Ahmed, Brett Adam Giller, Xi Tao
2013 Hussain Almusa, Kuang oo Han, Gaetano Pressimone, Napat Ratanakul
2012 Chong Shao, Feng Zhu, Jeffrey Dileo, Moshe Kaplan