Summer of Research: Undergrads Begin Annual Program

Polytechnic Institute of NYU kicked off its 4th Annual Undergraduate Summer Research Program on Monday. This year, 44 bright student researchers were selected among 100 applicants from NYU-Poly and NYU’s College of Arts and Science to study topics ranging from biosensors and cell phone forensics to underwater robotics and cooperative wireless communication.

The researchers will work on their topics full time in NYU-Poly labs from now until August 20 under the direction of 27 faculty mentors. They will participate in weekly seminars directed by distinguished NYU-Poly faculty. Students will also present their research to non-specialists during bi-weekly lunches designed to encourage thinking across disciplines. At the end of the 10-week program, abstracts of the research will be published and the student researchers will present their findings to the Class of 2014 at the New Student Convocation.

The Office of the Provost initiated the Summer Research Program in 2007. Its success has been made possible by the financial support from the Institute’s most loyal and generous donors as well as supplements from the research grants of the mentoring faculty. In total, 165 students and 108 faculty members have been involved in the Summer Research Program since its inception.

The 2010 Research Team


Aadhar Rohila (ME)
Aarti Bedi (BMS)
Abhishek Channa (ECE)
Aditya Chintapalli (EE)
Albert Yau (CS)
Andrew Karas (CBE)
Anika Ahmed (BMS)
Ankur Vishwakarma (ME)
Brian Law (Math)
Chaorong (John) Chen (EE)
Chris Xu (ME)
Christina DeAngelis (Physics)
Christopher Pagano (ME)
Edward Bear (EE)
Fabrice Bernard (BMS)
Frank Hsu (Math/CivilE)
Hussein Saab (ME)
Ilaan Shtaygrud (Physics)
Jaroslaw Jaracz (Math/Biochemistry)
Jeffrey Dileo (CS)
Jeffrey Ning (Math/Physics)
Jenny Lin (ME)
Jinhui (Liz) Zhao (BMS)
Kevin Chen (ME)
Kshitij Sood (Physics)
Lawrence Ng (CompE)
Martin Lau (CS)
Merritt Dailey (Physics/Philosophy)
Moran Sidi (CompE)
Moshe Caplan (CompE)
Nataliya Furman (CBE)
Po-Chen Chen (ECE
Qing Jiang (BTM)
Quinn Gibson (Chemistry/Physics)
Raaj Rajmangal (EE)
Radu Illescu (BMS)
Robert O'Connor (CBE)
Ruth Guerra (CBE)
Shaul Shaulov (Math)
Skye Book (IDM)
Sofia Golbert (CBE)
Songze Li (EE)
Tina Xiong (CBE)
Wenbo He (EE)


Janice Aber (CBS)
Steve Arnold (Physics)
Kurt Becker (Physics)
Franziska Berger (Math)
Francisco De Leon (ECE)
Remi Dingreville (ME)
Elza Erkip (ECE)
Phyllis Frankl (CSE)
Bruce Garetz (CBS)
Richard Gross (CBS)
Nikhil Gupta (ME)
Myles Jackson (HU/SS)
Zhong-ping Jiang (ECE)
Jin Kim (CBE)
Joo Kim (ME)
Erich Kunhardt (Physics)
Rastislav Levicky (CBE)
Charles Martucci (CBE)
Nasir Memon (CS)
Jovan Mijovic (CBE)
Jin Montclare (CBS)
Maurizio Porfiri (ME)
Bharat Rao (BTM)
Carl Skelton (IDM)
Stavroula Sofou (CBE)
Vladimir Tsifrinovich (Physics)
Joel Wein (CSE)