Channel Characteristics for Terahertz Wireless Communications

Lecture / Panel
Open to the Public


Part of the Special Joint ECE and NYU WIRELESS Seminar Series 

Circuits: Terahertz (THz) and Beyond


Channel Characteristics for Terahertz Wireless Communications


Daniel Mittleman

  • Professor of Engineering at Brown University
  • Director of Mittleman Lab 

Research Website: Mittleman Lab


To accommodate the rapid increase in global wireless traffic, which will reach to 49 exabytes per month by 2021, wireless networks operating beyond 95 GHz will be required. The operation and characteristics of such networks are quite different from those of conventional wireless systems, or even of 5G systems which will employ millimeter-wave links at lower frequencies. The distinctions arise from the much shorter wavelength, which implies both a significantly higher directionality and a very different propagation and diffraction characteristic.  This offers both challenges and opportunities for future networks operating at these frequencies. In this presentation, we discuss several new measurements to characterize aspects of these high-frequency channels, including non-line-of-sight links. A first study of the implications of high directionality on eavedropping and physical-layer security will also be described.


Dr. Mittleman received his B.S. in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1988, and his M.S. in 1990 and Ph.D. in 1994, both in physics from the University of California, Berkeley , under the direction of Dr. Charles Shank . He then joined AT&T Bell Laboratories as a post-doctoral member of the technical staff, working first for Dr. Richard Freeman on a terawatt laser system, and then for Dr. Martin Nuss on terahertz spectroscopy and imaging. Dr. Mittleman joined the ECE Department at Rice University in September 1996. In 2015, he moved to the School of Engineering at Brown University . His research interests involve the science and technology of terahertz radiation. He is a Fellow of the OSA, the APS, and the IEEE, and is a 2018 recipient of the Humboldt Research Award. He currently serving a three-year term as Chair of the International Society for Infrared Millimeter and Terahertz Waves.