Gender, Ethnicity, and Personality Factors in Deceptive Speech Detection

Lecture / Panel
For NYU Community


Julia Hirschberg
Professor and Chair of the Computer Science Department at Columbia University

Detecting deception from different dimensions of human behavior has been a major goal of research in psychology and computational linguistics for some years and is currently of considerable interest to military and law enforcement agencies.  However, little work has been done to develop automatic methods to detect deception from spoken language or to compare deception detection and production across different cultures.  We present results of experiments on a new corpus of deceptive and non-deceptive speech, collected from native speakers of Standard American English and Mandarin Chinese, all speaking English, to investigate ethnicity, gender, and personality factors in deception detection.  We also present results of classification experiments using these and acoustic-prosodic cues to deception.


Julia Hirschberg is Percy K. and Vida L. W. Hudson Professor of Computer Science and Chair of the Computer Science Department at Columbia University. She worked at Bell Laboratories and AT&T Laboratories -- Research from 1985-2003 as a Member of Technical Staff and a Department Head, creating the Human-Computer Interface Research Department in 1994.   She served as editor-in-chief of Computational Linguistics from 1993-2003 and co-editor-in-chief of Speech Communication from 2003-2006. She served on the Executive Board of the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL) from 1993-2003, on the Permanent Council of International Conference on Spoken Language Processing (ICSLP) since 1996, and on the board of the International Speech Communication Association (ISCA) from 1999-2007 (as President 2005-2007); she has served on the CRA Executive Board (2013-14). She now serves on the IEEE Speech and Language Processing Technical Committee, the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) Council, the Executive Board of the North American ACL, and the board of the CRA-W.  She has been an AAAI fellow since 1994, an ISCA Fellow since 2008, and a (founding) ACL Fellow since 2011, and was elected to the American Philosophical Society in 2014.  She is a winner of the IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award (2011) and the ISCA Medal for Scientific Achievement (2011).