2005 Selection Results

SMARTER selection committee has now completed the review of all applications submitted for the 2005 cycle. We received 31 applications from highly qualified teachers from the five boroughs of New York, Long Island, and New Jersey. The 10 finalists selected for the 2005 summer research program have been notified of the committee's decision by email. The finalists are requested to complete and return a signed statement indicating their intent to participate in the 2005 SMARTER program (a copy of the statement has been sent to the finalists and is available for download: HERE). This statement must be received at our office by April 29, 2005.

First Name Last Name Email School Name
Thomas Byrne coriolis01@aol.com New Rochelle High School
Michael Francesco mfrancesco@socsd.org Tappan Zee High School
Fady Ishak faish7@aol.com Legacy High School
Cameron Jahn cameronjahn@netzero.com Midwood High School
Vera Mihalcik vera_mihalcik@yahoo.com Marta Valle Secondary School
Robert Morris rmorris@ccsd.edu Clarkstown High School North
Carol Obler singr22@aol.com IS 49
Henry Penna henrypenna@hotmail.com W. E. Grady High School
Joseph Rodichok jrodichok@smithtown.k12.ny.us Smithtown High School
Rodolfo Vera redkal2k@yahoo.com IS 125 Woodside

The following teachers participated in the 2005 SMARTER program through the support of the NY State Department of Education under a Title IIB Math Science Partnership Grant as part of a Polytechnic University/Community School District 21 grant.

First Name Last Name Email School Name
Michael Fishenfeld Fishteach@aol.com John Dewey High School
Joy Hinds infinityjay@aol.com Abraham Lincoln High School
Mustafa Kilic mustifier@yahoo.com Brooklyn Amity School
James McMahon jkevmc@verizon.net William E. Grady Technical High School
Joseph Renna jprenna@IX.netcom.com Abraham Lincoln High School
Lennon Safe lsafe@hotmail.com Edward R. Murrow High School
Douraine Stewart douraine@excite.com John Dewey High School