The National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO) to Kickoff the 24th Annual Ellis Island Medals of Honor

NEW YORK, NY -- The National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO) will kickoff — and announce the first group of recipients of — the 24th Annual Ellis Island Medals of Honor at a reception at The Children's Aid Society, 105 East 22nd Street, 9th Floor (corner of Park Avenue South) on Tuesday, February 2, 2010 at 12:30-2:00 p.m. The 24th Annual Ellis Island Medals of Honor will be presented to approximately 95 outstanding individuals by NECO on Ellis Island, on Saturday, May 8, 2010 at 6:30 p.m. The ceremony will be followed by the annual Gala Awards Dinner in the historic Great Hall.

The following first round nominees are expected to attend:

  • Richard R. Buery, Jr., President & CEO, The Children’s Aid Society
  • Sarkis Bedevian, Community Leader
  • Suraj Bhatia, President, Technology Consultants Service International, Inc.
  • George F. Brown, Chief of Detectives (Retired), NYPD
  • Lin-Chi (Jim) Chu, President, Mandarin Business Association
  • Raymond Diaz, Assistant Chief, NYPD
  • Lina Fang, Community Leader
  • Denis McGowan, Chief, US Department of Homeland Security
  • Hon. Rosemond Pierre-Louis, Manhattan Deputy Borough President
  • Joseph M. Saponaro, President, Elite Investigations Ltd.
  • Yen S. Chou, President, Chinese American Parent-Student Council
  • Wing K. Ma, Community Leader

Also nominated for the 2010 award, but unable to attend the February 2nd kick-off:

  • Thomas J. Donahue, President and CEO, US Chamber of Commerce
  • Rod G. Gilbert, President, NY Rangers Alumni Association-Cablevision-NY Rangers
  • E. Bulkeley Griswold, Managing Partner, Centripetal Capital Partners
  • Wolf H. Hengst, President (Retired), Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts
  • Jerry M. Hultin, President, Polytechnic Institute of NYU
  • Dr. Tak W. Kwan, MD, Chinatown Cardiology, PC
  • Dr. William K. Lee, MD, President, Cardiac Associates of North Jersey
  • Jeremiah A. Mullins, Executive Vice President (Retired), Morgan Stanley
  • Michael J. Piazza, Former Major League Baseball Player
  • Matt H. Yildizlar, President, Metalight Industries LLC
  • Faryar Shirzad, Global Head/Office of Government Affairs, The Goldman Sachs Group
  • Rao Anumolu, President & CEO, ASR International Corp.
  • Michael Capasso, General Director, Dicapo Opera Theatre

Continue reading at the Children's Aid Society