Colloquium 2018

See information about the ARISE 2018 Colloquium below:

Friday, August 17th, 2018 10:00 AM – 12:30 PM

NYU Tandon School of Engineering

6 MetroTech Center – Brooklyn, NY

RSVP Here.

Welcome to the ARISE 2018 Colloquium. Students representing nearly every field of engineering have been working intensively in their labs conducting research projects with mentors and faculty, taking full advantage of our NYU Engineering facilities. We are pleased to present the culmination of these efforts and are eager to acknowledge the hard work and dedication of the 2018 ARISE class.

We invite you to be a part of the ARISE program. During the colloquium, audience members will have opportunities to ask questions and submit surveys after each presentation to help the students learn and improve. (These will be conducted electronically, so please bring mobile devices to participate). These surveys provide valuable insight for the students’ presentation skills, as well as offer encouragement towards future STEM endeavors.

The Center for K12 STEM Education acknowledges and thanks all of the mentors and faculty from 28 labs across the NYU Tandon School of Engineering and the NYU College of Arts and Sciences for their support and engagement given to ARISE and its students. To find out more about these labs and their research, please click here.

Presentations will run simultaneously in four adjacent rooms on the second floor of Rogers Hall in 6 Metrotech. Student presenters and their assigned rooms are noted below. Please click on the links to view details, abstracts, and specific presentation times. RSVP here.


Group 1 (RH-215)




Group 2 (RH-203)




Group 3 (RH-205)




Group 4 (RH-207)




Vanessa Vasquez, Farhana Rahman (10:10-10:30) Angella Baigorria, Nathaniel Downes (10:00-10:20) Jessica Belov, Destiny Rivera (10:00-10:20) James Zou, Rajaa Elhassan (10:00-10:20)
Elaine Tanel, Matzary Candia (10:30-10:50) Angelisa Cortorreal (10:20-10:30) Daniel Borovskiy (10:20-10:30) Oscar Yong (10:20-10:30)
Erica Ayisi-Boahene (10:50-11:00) Youssef El Mosalami, Penina Schlesinger (10:30-10:50) Laura Rosas, Anna Shi (10:30-10:50) Chengyuan Wang (10:30-10:40)
Madison Mushnick (11:00-11:10) Giordan Escalona (10:50-11:00) Fariha Hanif (10:50-11:00) Evolone Layne, Swan Yee Aung (10:40-11:00)
Daniel Gomez, Tina Wong (11:10-11:30) Noor Al Muzahidz, Manting Yu (11:00-11:20) Mohammad Nasir (11:00-11:10) Marianne Lee (11:00-11:10)
Zoe Wu (11:30-11:40) Grace Lin (11:20-11:30) Break (11:10-11:20) Yan Huang, Arika Ahamed (11:10-11:30)
Keying Wang, Aaliyah James (11:40-12:00) Djemila Compaore (11:30-11:40) Efecan Balci (11:20-11:30) Manjashan Ghotra (11:30-11:40)
Cristal Nestor Porfirio (12:00-12:10) Isabella Fraczek, Kang Hwu Yie (11:40-12:00) Alexander Dorfman, Betsy Balbuena (11:30-11:50) Kaiya Idlett, Zhiheng (Mina) Mai (11:40-12:00)
Caitlin O’Neil (12:10-12:20) Zirong Chen (12:00-12:10) Rubiel Aquino (11:50-12:00) Annie Eng (12:00-12:10)
Elizabeth Mendoza (12:10-12:20) Tabassum Fabiha, Doris Chen (12:00-12:20) Justin Chan (12:10-12:20)